How do I become a licensed childcare provider in Missouri?

How do I become a licensed childcare provider in Missouri?

How do I become registered with DESE?

  1. Be 18 years of age or older.
  2. Pass a background screening for everyone living in the home age 18 years and older.
  3. Submit health certification (tuberculosis statement)
  4. Register with the Missouri Professional Development Registry.
  5. Complete required trainings.

How much does the state of Missouri pay for child care?

When looking at average amount of income per household within the state of Missouri, it is shown that average households earn about $4,500 a month. This means that these households have to spend almost 18.5% of their total income on child care for just one child.

How many kids can a licensed daycare have in Missouri?


Age Range Ratios for Center-based Care in Missouri State
Number of Children Allowed: 11 – 20
Ratio of Children to One Provider: 4:1 for 0-2 years; 8:1 for 2 years; 10:1 for 3-4 years; 16:1 for 5 years and older 10:1 for mixed ages older than 2 years; 8:1, with more than 4 2-year-olds

Do you have to have a degree to open a daycare in Missouri?

Daycare owners don’t need formal training in child care or education. However, these professionals must be at least 18 years old. Request application materials. The state of Missouri requires daycare owners to apply for a license.

How many kids can you watch in Missouri without being licensed?

Exemptions are set forth in Missouri Statute, sections 210.201 and 210.211, RSMo. Anyone who is caring for six or fewer children, including a maximum of three children under the age of two, at the same physical address is not required to be licensed and does not have to report he/she is providing child care.

Can a family member get paid for childcare in Missouri?

The state of Missouri may be able to assist qualified families with paying for their child care costs. The purpose is to provide them relief, or free daycare, so that the parents can participate in specific education or job training activities. The parent can also be working and still receive assistance as well.

How much is daycare per week in Missouri?

The average hourly rate of a child care provider in Missouri is $13.37 per hour. The average gross weekly salary of a child care provider in Missouri is $467.95 ($13.37 per hour × 35 hours).

How do I report an unlicensed daycare in Missouri?

If you suspect child abuse, neglect, or exploitation at a child care facility in Missouri, contact the Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-392-3738.

How do I get paid by the state for babysitting?

Complete the necessary forms to be registered as a babysitter for low-income families. Review any information that is provided with the forms. Most of the time, the state or county will set your fees so make sure the fiscal agreement is appropriate. Fulfill any other necessary training or background checks.

How many kids can I watch without a license in Missouri?