Is Lepidoptera an order or family?

Is Lepidoptera an order or family?

Lepidoptera (/ˌlɛpəˈdɒptərə/ lep-ə-DOP-tər-ə; from Ancient Greek λεπίδος (lepídos) ‘scale’, and πτερά (pterá) ‘wings’) is an order of insects that includes butterflies and moths (both are called lepidopterans).

What is the largest family of Lepidoptera?

Lymantriidae (tussock moths) — larvae are characterized by tufts of hair along the body. Adults do not feed. Pests include the gypsy moth (Lymantria dispar) and the browntail moth (Euproctis chrysorrhoea). Noctuidae (loopers, owlet moths, and underwings) — this is the largest family in the Lepidoptera.

What are the 4 stages of a butterfly and moths lifecycle?

Butterflies, moths, beetles, flies and bees have complete metamorphosis. The young (called a larva instead of a nymph) is very different from the adults. It also usually eats different types of food. There are four stages in the metamorphosis of butterflies and moths: egg, larva, pupa, and adult.

Which of the following insect belongs to order Lepidoptera?

lepidopteran, (order Lepidoptera), any of about 180,000 species of butterflies, moths, and skippers. This order of insects is second in size only to Coleoptera, the beetles.

How many families are in the order Lepidoptera?

127 different families
Lepidoptera Families. There are 127 different families of moths and butterflies worldwide, consisting of more than 100 000 species.

What comes first moth or caterpillar?

“Moths” come out of the eggs as caterpillars. These larvae are elongated in appearance, similar to worms. They begin their lives consuming the plants that surround them, and because of that they are frequently considered to be nuisances by human beings.

How many families are there Lepidoptera?

Of the 46 lepidopteran superfamilies, 24 are presented below, representing all the commonly encountered families of moths, butterflies, and skippers.

What does the name of the order Lepidoptera mean?

What does the name of the order Lepidoptera mean? Lepidoptera means scale wings. What is the hard, protective case in which most butterflies spend the pupal stage called? The hard protective case in the pupal stage of a butterfly is called the chrysalis.

How many butterfly families are there?

six families
The six families of butterflies include: Swallowtails, Whites and Sulphurs, Hairstreaks and Blues, Metalmarks, Nymphalids and the Skippers.

What is the first stage in the life cycle of a butterfly?

The first stage of a butterfly’s life is a very small oval, round, or cylindrical egg, depending on the species of butterfly. When the egg hatches, a “larva” or “caterpillar” emerges. Caterpillars must grow quickly, so they eat continually.

What are the 4 stages of a caterpillar?

Complete metamorphosis of butterflies and moths involves four (4) stages: the egg, the larva (caterpillar), the pupa (chrysalis or cocoon) and the adult. In the caterpillar stage the caterpillar grows rapidly. Unlike humans the caterpillar has its skeleton on the outside, this is known as an exoskeleton.

Which pest belongs to the order Lepidoptera?