What are the 9 principles of Blue Zones?

What are the 9 principles of Blue Zones?

Many residents living in the original Blue Zones® areas share nine healthy lifestyle habits that help them live longer, healthier lives.

  • MOVE NATURALLY. The world’s longest-lived people don’t pump iron, run marathons or join gyms.
  • 80% RULE.
  • WINE @ FIVE.

What is the blue zone theory?

A few places in the world are called “Blue Zones.” The term refers to geographic areas in which people have low rates of chronic disease and live longer than anywhere else. This article describes the common lifestyle features of people in Blue Zones, including why they live longer.

What makes Loma Linda Special?

Experts say that’s because Loma Linda has one of the highest concentrations of Seventh-day Adventists in the world. The religion mandates a healthy lifestyle and a life of service to the church and community, which contributes to their longevity.

What we can learn from blue zones?

Life Purpose – People in Blue Zones wake up every day with purpose. Researchers found that knowing your purpose in life can be worth seven extra years! Eat Earlier in the Day – People in Blue Zones don’t eat large meals before bedtime. Instead, they eat their smallest meal in the late afternoon and don’t eat after.

What is the 80% rule in the power of 9?

“Hara hachi bu” – the Okinawan, 2500-year old Confucian mantra said before meals reminds them to stop eating when their stomachs are 80 percent full. The 20% gap between not being hungry and feeling full could be the difference between losing weight or gaining it.

How do I practice Hara Hachi Bu?

How to Put Hara Hachi Bu into Practice

  1. Eat more slowly. Eating faster results in eating more. Slow down to allow your body to respond to cues, which tell us we are no longer hungry.
  2. Focus on food. Turn off the TV and the computer.
  3. Use small vessels. Choose to eat on smaller plates and use tall, narrow glasses.

Who invented Blue Zones?

BLUE ZONES is a brand and certification mark developed by Michel Poulain, Dan Buettner, and Giovanni Mario Pes when investigating people around the world living longer and better. BLUE ZONES is now a registered trademark owned by BLUE ZONES, LLC, and used by Mssrs. Poulain, Buettner and Pes under license.

What does Lesson 2’s Hara Hachi Bu mean?

Lesson 2: Hara Hachi Bu. Centenarians in the Blue Zones tend to eat as if inspired by Hara Hachi Bu, a Confucian adage which means to stop eating when 80% full. They eat mindfully and do not rush through meals.

Why are Blue Zones so important?

The blue zones areas of the world share and benefit from a set of habits that we call the Power 9: practices that—together—increase longevity, health, and happiness. Our research has shown that these sets of behaviors and outlooks benefit people in these ways: Longer, healthier life.