What are the classifications of animal research?

What are the classifications of animal research?

The severity category shall be assigned based on the most severe effects likely to be experienced by an individual animal after applying all appropriate refinement techniques. The proposal has 4 severity categories; non-recovery, mild, moderate and severe.

What are the 6 major classifications of animals?

The six main taxonomic classes of animals are:

  • Mammals.
  • Birds.
  • Reptiles.
  • Amphibians.
  • Invertebrates.
  • Fish.

How many severity categories are defined in the regulation on animal research?

Experiments are characterized into the following 4 severity categories: Non-recovery, Mild, Moderate and Severe.

Which US Agency requires placing animals used in research into pain distress categories?

The Animal Welfare Act requires placing animal usage into categories according to potential pain and distress and the reporting of such usage annually to the U. S. Department of Agriculture.

How many classifications of animals are there?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. The following is a list of the classes in each phylum of the kingdom Animalia. There are 107 classes of animals in 33 phyla in this list. However, different sources give different numbers of classes and phyla.

How is animal testing regulated?

The federal law called the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) sets high standards of care for lab animals with regard to their housing, feeding, cleanliness, ventilation and medical needs. It also requires the use of anesthesia or analgesic drugs for potentially painful procedures and during post-operative care.

What would disqualify an animal from USDA Category D?

Based on this definition, procedures which require tissue manipulation or other prolonged techniques prior to the animals death (more than a few minutes) should be classified as non-survival surgery (USDA D).

What are the 2 main classifications of animals?

Animals are divided into two main groups. Animals that have a backbone are called vertebrates. Animals that don’t have a backbone are called invertebrates.