What is Polymodal Nociception?

What is Polymodal Nociception?

Polymodal-nociceptive neurons or multi, or wide dynamic range nociceptive neurons. These neurons are excited by both noxious and non-noxious cutaneous and/or visceral stimuli (polymodal nociceptive neurons). These neurons are activated by a variety of noxious stimuli (mechanical, thermal, chemical, etc.)

Are most nociceptors Polymodal?

Mechanical nociceptors respond to excess pressure or mechanical deformation. They also respond to incisions that break the skin surface. The reaction to the stimulus is processed as pain by the cortex, just like chemical and thermal responses. These mechanical nociceptors frequently have polymodal characteristics.

What is Nociception What are the two types of nociceptors and how do they function?

There are two types of nociceptive pain: Somatic, which originates in your arms, legs, face, muscles, tendons, and superficial areas of your body, and visceral, which originates from your internal organs (for example, a stomachache or pain from a kidney stone).

What activates cutaneous polymodal nociceptors?

The C-polymodal nociceptors are unmyelinated and are activated by firm stroking of the skin, chemical stimuli, and high temperatures (38°–60°C) or cold temperatures (10°–21°C).

What does Polymodal mean?

Medical Definition of polymodal : responding to several different forms of sensory stimulation (as heat, touch, and chemicals) unmyelinated polymodal nociceptors.

Are all nociceptors Polymodal?

In short, there are three major classes of nociceptors in the skin: Aδ mechanosensitive nociceptors, Aδ mechanothermal nociceptors, and polymodal nociceptors, the latter being specifically associated with C fibers.

What is Polymodal distribution?

[¦päl·i′mōd·əl ‚dis·trə′byü·shən] (statistics) A frequency distribution characterized by two or more localized modes, each having a higher frequency of occurrence than other immediately adjacent individuals or classes.

What is Polymodal?

What are the 4 stages of nociception?

The four steps of pain signaling and processing The neurophysiologic underpinnings of pain can be divided into four stages: transduction, transmission, pain modulation, and perception.