Where is the Western District of Tennessee?

Where is the Western District of Tennessee?

Memphis, Tennessee
The District consists of two divisional offices – the Eastern Division is located in Jackson, Tennessee, and the Western Division is located in Memphis, Tennessee.

What District Court is Memphis TN in?

The United States District Court for the Western District of Tennessee is one of 94 United States district courts. The Western Division’s main office is in Memphis, Tennessee.

What circuit is the Western District of Tennessee?

Sixth Circuit

United States District Court for the Western District of Tennessee
Appeals to Sixth Circuit
Established April 29, 1802
Judges 5
Chief Judge Stanley Thomas Anderson

What counties make up West TN?

Western District of Tennessee: The Western District comprises the counties of Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Tipton and Weakley.

Is Knoxville considered East Tennessee?

The East Tennessee Region consists of 26 counties in the eastern portion of the state. The communities involved range from the small unincorporated areas to a growing urban area in the upper counties known as Tri-Cities and Knoxville.

What is Circuit Court in Tennessee?

Circuit Courts are courts of general jurisdiction in Tennessee. Circuit court judges hear civil and criminal cases and appeals of decisions from Juvenile, Municipal, and General Sessions Courts. The jurisdiction of circuit courts often overlaps that of the chancery courts.

How many federal district courts does Tennessee have?

three federal districts
The federal trial court in which federal lawsuits originate is the federal district court. Tennessee is divided into three federal districts — western, middle and eastern.

What cities are considered western Tennessee?

Seven of the thirteen cities in West Tennessee with a population greater than 10,000 are located within Shelby County, which comprises Memphis and its six suburbs.

  • Memphis (662,897)
  • Jackson (65,211)
  • Bartlett (54,613)
  • Collierville (43,965)
  • Germantown (38,844)
  • Dyersburg (17,145)
  • Lakeland (12,430)
  • Arlington (11,517)

What’s considered West Tennessee?

The West Tennessee Region consists of 21 counties west of the Tennessee River. The communities involved range from the smallest unincorporated areas to the largest city in the state, Memphis. Regional offices are established to improve services to the local emergency management directors and agencies in the area.

Is the Shelby County tag office open?

ALL Shelby County License Offices are open. MOST Driver Licences renewals, replacements and name changes can be performed onsite. STATE ALEA OFFICES are open in Pelham, Columbiana and Hwy 280 with road tests, permit tests, out-of-state transfers or STAR ID’s performed at ALEA offices.

Is the Shelby County Clerk’s office open on Saturday?

There are multiple locations throughout Shelby County for vehicle registration, titling, etc. and for obtaining a marriage license. All Offices are open Monday through Friday only.

What type of cases are heard in the circuit court?

The Circuit Court hears criminal matters triable on indictment, except for certain serious crimes which are tried in either the Central Criminal court or the Special Criminal Court. Most indictable offences are dealt with in the Circuit Court.

What federal court district is TN in?

United States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee
Appeals to Sixth Circuit
Established June 18, 1839
Judges 4
Chief Judge Waverly D. Crenshaw Jr.