Which team won MTN8 most?

Which team won MTN8 most?

Kaizer Chiefs
Kaizer Chiefs are the most successful club in MTN8 history with 15 victories from 21 final appearances. Their previous win was in 2014 when a first half goal from Tefu Mashamaite gave them a 1-0 victory over Soweto rivals Orlando Pirates. Pirates are the next most successful side with 10 title triumphs from 16 finals.

How many times did Sundowns win MTN8?


Founded 1972
Current champions Mamelodi Sundowns (4th title)
Most successful club(s) Kaizer Chiefs (15 titles)
Motto Wafa Wafa (Do or Die)
Website www.mtn.co.za

Who are the defending MTN8 champions?

Mamelodi Sundowns are the MTN 8 champions this season. Sundowns beat a determined Cape Town City 3-2 on penalties after sudden death.

Who won psl 2011?

Orlando Pirates
Orlando Pirates secured the title with a 2–1 win against Golden Arrows on 21 May 2011. This was their third PSL title.

Which club is in the final of MTN 8 competition 2021?

Sundowns clash against Cape Town City in Saturday’s MTN8 final at Moses Mabhida Stadium as they seek to win this competition for the first time in 14 years. Prolific Shalulile has scored eight goals in 12 appearances across all competitions this season but insists lifting the MTN8 is not all about him but the team.

Who won most Soweto derby?

4 – Chiefs’ keeper Setlhodi slotted home four penalties in derbies in both 1971 and 1972, the only goalkeeper to score in the derby. 5 – Chiefs and Pirates have only been involved in an official cup competition penalty shoot-out five times, in 1975, 2006, 2010, 2015 and 2019. But Chiefs have won them all!

Which is the biggest derby in Africa?

Soweto derby

Latest meeting 05 March 2022 Chiefs 2-1 Pirates DStv Premiership
Next meeting
Stadiums FNB Stadium (Chiefs) Orlando Stadium (Pirates)
Most wins Kazier Chiefs

Which team has won the most Nedbank Cup since 1971?

Nedbank Cup previous winners Since this competition started in 1971, Kaizer Chiefs are the most successful team with 13 titles and they are followed by Pirates who have eight. Sundowns, Swallows FC and SuperSport United are tied at five titles each.

How many times did Sundowns win Nedbank Cup?

It is currently the most successful football club in the South African PSL era. They won the 2016 CAF Champions League, 2017 CAF Super Cup and were voted the 2016 CAF Club of the Year. Domestically, they have also won the Nedbank Cup six times, the MTN 8 four times and the Telkom Knockout four times.

How much is Telkom Knockout Cup?

The Telkom Knockout is the highest paying cup competition in Africa with a grand total prize money of R 14,200,000. Each team taking part in the Telkom Knockout will receive a participation fee of R 250,000.