Who became prime minister of Russia in 2008?

Who became prime minister of Russia in 2008?

Dmitry Medvedev
President of Russia
In office 7 May 2008 – 7 May 2012
Prime Minister Vladimir Putin
Preceded by Vladimir Putin

Who was the president of Russia from 2008 to 2012?

During the 2008 Russian presidential election, Dmitry Medvedev was elected president (head of the executive branch) with 73% of votes.

Who was the president of Russia from 2000 to 2008?

Subsequent public service

President Presidency Subsequent service
Vladimir Putin 2000–2008 Prime Minister (2008–2012)
President (2012–present)
Dmitry Medvedev 2008–2012 Prime Minister (2012–2020)
Deputy Chairman of the Security Council (2020–present)

Who ruled Russia in 2010?

The Presidency of Dmitry Medvedev began on 8 May 2008, when he became the 3rd President of the Russian Federation. Medvedev was the Head of the Presidential Administration during the 2nd term of Vladimir Putin as president, and the Chairman of Gazprom oil company.

How many years Vladimir Putin is president?

May 7, 2000 – May 7, 2008
December 31, 1999 – May 7, 2000May 7, 2012 –
Vladimir Putin/Presidential terms

How long is Putin president?

List of presidents

Name Term of office Length of term
Boris Yeltsin 1991–1999 8 years, 174 days
Vladimir Putin (1st and 2nd terms) 2000–2008 8 years, 0 days
Dmitry Medvedev 2008–2012 4 years, 0 days
Vladimir Putin (3rd and 4th terms) 2012–present 10 years, 31 days

What happened 2008 Russian presidential election?

The 2008 Russian presidential election was held on 2 March 2008, and resulted in the election of Dmitry Medvedev as the third President of Russia.

Was Putin still in charge when he was prime minister?

As he was then constitutionally limited to two consecutive terms as president, Putin served as prime minister again from 2008 to 2012 under Dmitry Medvedev, and returned to the presidency in 2012 in an election marred by allegations of fraud and protests; he was reelected again in 2018.