Who won the Miles Franklin twice?

Who won the Miles Franklin twice?

Michelle de Kretser
Michelle de Kretser has won the 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel The Life to Come, published by Allen & Unwin. This is her second Miles Franklin win, her previous win was in 2013 for her novel Questions of Travel. Michelle is only the third woman in the Award’s history to win more than once.

Who got Miles Franklin Award?

The 2021 judging panel is chaired by State Library of NSW’s Mitchell Librarian Richard Neville, author and book critic Dr Bernadette Brennan, book critic Dr Melinda Harvey, book critic Dr James Ley, and author and activist Sisonke Msimang. The 2020 Miles Franklin was won by Tara June Winch for The Yield.

Who won the 2021 Miles Franklin?

Amanda Lohrey
Lohrey wins for The Labyrinth. a novel about working through the layers of resilience. Tasmanian author Amanda Lohrey has been awarded Australia’s prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel The Labyrinth, published by Text Publishing.

Who won the Miles Franklin Award in 2020?

Tara june winch’s
Tara june winch’s the yield wins the 2020 miles franklin literary award.

Who won the Miles Franklin Award 2019?

writer Melissa Lucashenko
WrICE writer Melissa Lucashenko wins the 2019 Miles Franklin award for her novel Too Much Lip. Melissa is an award-winning Australian novelist, short story writer and essayist of Bundjalung and European heritage.

Who was the first Australian to win the Nobel Prize?

In 1973 Patrick White was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. White’s work explores some of humankind’s great existential questions in a distinctly Australian environment.

Who was declared the Australian of the Year in 1974?

The election was held on 18 May, 1974. It was a double dissolution, electing the full House of Representatives and the full Senate, the first since 1951. The election was triggered by the Senate’s rejection of six pieces of legislation.