Who won the Super Rugby in 1996?

Who won the Super Rugby in 1996?

Auckland Blues
The 1996 Super 12 season was the inaugural season of the Super 12, contested by teams from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa….1996 Super 12 season.

1996 Super 12
Champions Auckland Blues (1st title)
Matches played 69
Tries scored 442 (6.41 per match)
Top point scorer(s) Matt Burke (157) (NSW Waratahs)

Why is Auckland called the blues?

Generally supporters in the South Auckland region identify as Blues supporters even though they are technically in the Chiefs region. In 2000, the Auckland Blues dropped the Auckland prefix from their name, and became known simply as ‘Blues’.

When did Super 12 rugby start?

March 1, 1996Super Rugby / First event date
The competition began as Super 12 in 1996, consisting of 12 teams from Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. An extra Australian and South African team were added in 2005 and the name was changed to Super 14. A fifteenth team joined in 2011 and the competition was rebranded as Super Rugby.

When was the last time the Blues won the Super Rugby title?

One of the most successful teams in Super Rugby history, the Blues won the competition in its first two seasons, 1996 and 1997, and again in 2003. Additionally, the team were finalists in 1998 and 2022and semi-finalists in 2007 and 2011.

When was the last time the Blues won?

Louis, Missouri, that plays in the Western Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Blues have appeared in four Stanley Cup finals (1968–70 and 2019) and have won one championship (2019).

What is the longest drop goal in rugby?

The longest recorded successful drop goal is 77.7m (85yd) by Gerald Hamilton `Gerry’ Brand (b. 8 Oct 1906) for South Africa v. England at Twickenham, Greater London, on 2 Jan 1932.

Why did South Africa exit Super Rugby?

South Africa’s four Super Rugby franchises – the Bulls, Lions, Sharks and Stormers – left the competition after the global outbreak of Covid-19 two years ago, playing against each other internally before joining the United Rugby Championship, formerly known as the Pro14, ahead of its current season.