How do I find out if a contractor is licensed in Virginia?

How do I find out if a contractor is licensed in Virginia?

The Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) regulates and licenses contractors who have completed required testing. To verify if a contractor is licensed, enter the license number or business name through the DPOR License Lookup or call 804-367-5800, TTY 711.

Does a handyman need a license in Virginia?

A handyman will need a Virginia contractors license to do work worth more than $1,000. There are three classes of licenses, depending on the monetary value of the projects you plan to work on. You’ll need to complete a pre-license education course approved by the board.

What is a Class C contractor in Virginia?

๐Ÿ” A Class C Contractor is any contractor that has single contracts from $1,000 or more but less than $10,000 or contracts totaling less than $150,000 over a one-year period.

What is a Class B contractor license in Virginia?

Class B contractors perform or manage construction, removal, repair, or improvements when (i) the total value referred to in a single contract or project is $10,000 or more, but less than $120,000, or (ii) the total value of all such construction, removal, repair, or improvements undertaken by such person within any …

What is a Type A contractor?

Class A โ€“ General Engineering Contractors may only enter into direct contracts and subcontracts for projects requiring specialized engineering knowledge and skills and may only self-perform work that falls within its license classification.

What is a Class C contractor in VA?

Can I build my own house without a contractor in Virginia?

Not being a contractor, the owner will not meet any exemption from the requirement for construction documents (building plans). Approved construction documents will be needed before a permit is issued.

What is a class C contractors license in Virginia?

VA Business License (Class C) The class C license is for those individuals that work on single projects that total less than $9,999 and do not have more than $150,000 in contracts annually. Approved By: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

Can you sue an unlicensed contractor in Virginia?

If the contractor does not have a valid license, then the contractor may have violated ยง 59.1-200(A)(46) of the VCPA, which allows the consumer homeowner to file a complaint against the unlicensed contractor to recover whatever financial damages were caused by the contractor in addition to reasonable attorney’s fees ( …

What is the penalty for contracting without a license in Virginia?

[xv] Operating without a required contractor license would also be a violation of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, which carries a separate potential $2,500 fine and entitles the customer claimant to attorney’s fees.